just call me seven


iTunes game.

So, Emily started this thing… you open iTunes and put it on shuffle.
Then you write a poem using the first audible line of each song.
Here’s mine:

I never had it; I never wanted it
Take a long drive with me
Someday when I’m awfully low
Dear charming kite,do lightly bite

Throwing off the fetters; working on my smile
Before we were on our way
In this dry and weary land
Turn your eyes from all this way

It’s all a waste of time again
‘Cause it’s a bittersweet symphony
This is how it works
It’s a wonder I can walk on painted avenues

Hello, darkness, my old friend
Early in the evening, just about suppertime
The distant country
Gee, but it’s great to be back home

Won’t you come along with me?
I believe in freedom; I believe in truth
Hello to the world
How long will I wait?

Every kind of love, or at least my kind of love
Golden bars of sunlight
If you ever get close to a human
Who can say where the road goes?

Sources:

Rufus Wainwright
The Decemberists
Frank Sinatra
Joanna Newsom

Sarah Kelly
Stephen Malkmus
Ryan Delmore
Jennifer Knapp

The Flaming Lips
The Verve
Regina Spektor
The Waiting

Simon & Garfunkel
Creedence Clearwater Revival
Danielson
Simon & Garfunkel

Ella Fitzgerald
Sarah Kelly
The Fire Theft
Addison Road

Rufus Wainwright
The Waiting
The Decemberists
Enya

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

This is very cool. I hadn’t seen this particular meme before.

Comment by Jess

I like your poem but I love your musical taste.

Comment by Jenny




Leave a Reply

