just call me seven


In Which I Show Off My Wrapping Skillz.
28 November 2007, 10:53 pm
Filed under: I Do Have OCD-- How Did You Guess?, I'm a Big Dork

Here is a strange addiction I have: I am amazingly obsessed with wrapping presents.
No kidding. I wrapped a whole bunch of Christmas presents (we’re doing Christmas buddies this year, so they all go to the same person) way back in October (yep, I said October), using a red/black/white-with-green-leaves-and-red-berries sort of a theme. Then I found cooler paper than the red paper I had been using… it’s like a sort of an Asparagus-with-Olive Drab-stripes. So I unwrapped all the presents that had been wrapped in red, and rewrapped them with the new green stripey stuff.

Behold:
present 1
present 2
present 3

present 4

Yep. I love it. There’s something satisfying about folding each corner perfectly, and tying ribbon around it and making a present more than just what’s inside. I love thinking of unique ideas (like, ahem, the fake leaf/berry garnish) and making the recipient feel loved even before they find out what’s inside. And you know what else is nice about wrapping presents? If something turns out to look terrible, you can always unwrap it (who doesn’t like unwrapping presents, even if they’re not for you, right?) and start over. Nothing is hopeless… unless you run out of wrapping paper or something… but even then you can use a page from a calendar, the funnies, or do like my dad does and print out images from the internet. There’s always something you can do to fix your mistake, and I think that’s part of what I love about it. In life we rarely have an “undo” button or a “do-over.” In most situations you can’t just say, “Oh, that one was just practice… let’s try again.” Nope. You just have to live your life, and that’s that. Sometimes that’s hard, especially if you’re an anal-retentive perfectionist like me. I constantly find myself going over things I’ve said or done and fretted that I should have said this or that, or I should’ve worn different clothing, or I shouldn’t have opened my mouth that day that I blew up at so-and-so. The thing is, there’s nothing I can do about any of those situations! “Doesn’t matter! It’s in de past!” There’s nothing wrong with examining my behavior, attitude and character and working on the things that need improvement, but it does me no good to dwell on them. And that’s so often what I do. I dwell on what a dork I looked like, or how now everyone will think I’m a jerk, but I don’t alter my attitude or my behavior, so I keep doing the same stupid things.

18 And I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature. I want to do what is right, but I can’t. 19 I want to do what is good, but I don’t. I don’t want to do what is wrong, but I do it anyway.
Romans 7:18-19

But there is hope.

6 And I am certain that God, who began the good work within you, will continue his work until it is finally finished on the day when Christ Jesus returns.
Philippians 1:6

He who began a good work in me will be faithful to complete it. He won’t leave me raw, splintery and rough. He will scrape and sand, and it’ll hurt like the dickens, but he will complete this project. He will be able to finally present me to Himself, a spotless bride, radiant with His glory. And that gives me the will to carry on, one more day at a time.

Whoo… you thought you were getting a light post about wrapping paper… All I have to say is, “So did I, brotha… so did I.”

Peace out, cub scouts. I’m off to bed… but not before I put my new dress away! I love new clothes. :)

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

